Dance With Who Brung Ya
Dance With Who Brung Ya
Longhorn Superfan Bill has missed just ONE home game since 1976
1
0:00
-36:43

Longhorn Superfan Bill has missed just ONE home game since 1976

Bill and Taylor talk fanhood, Earl, Red River memories and best and worst road trips.
1

One of the best parts of writing Dance With Who Brung Ya since 2021 is how many amazing fans I’ve gotten to interact with. Cutting my chest open and pouring out my guts on paper for all to see about fanhood, football, failures and more has been a true blessing. I’d like to consider myself a pretty devoted fan, I mean I named a kid after a legendary Longhorn player, I have season tickets and I’m writing a book on the Longhorns after all. But let me just tell you, I have absolutely nothing on superfan Bill. After my SEC hate rankings article, Bill sent me an amazing e-mail full of great nuggets about Texas joining the new conference, road trips and more. But what impressed me most was this mind blowing sentence Bill ended his e-mail with: “I’ve got a lot of history packed into my brain – having missed one home game since 1976 (272 of 273), and 251 of the 321 road games in that period.  October 12th will be my 49th straight OU game.  I generally phrase my opinions as “based on nearly 50 years of close observation and an unhealthy emotional attachment.”

So, I had to have Bill on the pod to discuss. Stick with us as we get better sound quality and production value. Your host will get better too…

Summary

In this episode of the Dance with Who Brung Ya podcast, host Taylor Young interviews super fan Bill, who has an impressive record of attending 524 out of 595 Texas Longhorns football games since 1976. Bill shares his journey as a dedicated fan, recounting memorable games, the impact of legendary players like Earl Campbell, and the camaraderie among fans. He also discusses his experiences on the road, the rivalries with other teams, and the unique culture surrounding Texas football. Bill's passion for the sport and his stories provide a deep insight into what it means to be a Longhorn fan.

Thanks for reading Dance With Who Brung Ya! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Dance With Who Brung Ya
Dance With Who Brung Ya
A podcast about the Texas Longhorns, for the Texas Longhorn fan.